Welcome, Teachers!

We're Here To Support You

Since we first opened our doors in 1934, we’ve been committed to supporting the teachers in our local communities. We know our educators put in long hours to help make our future brighter, oftentimes with limited resources. On this page you will learn about our annual Teacher Awards initiative, student credit unions, and a few of the ways we support our teachers and students.

2020 Teacher Award Form

70 Teachers Will Win a $200
Amazon Digital Gift Card!

Our 2020 Teacher Awards submission deadline has passed. We will be reaching out to winners between November 23, 2020 – December 18, 2020. Thank you to everyone who applied!

2020 Winners

We adjusted the 11th Annual Teacher Awards to provide more support to even more teachers in 2020. In previous years, this award provided 40 teachers with $100 each. However, because of the obstacles teachers faced this year, we increased this to award 70 teachers with a $200 Amazon gift card. Here are the winners.

  • Lee Mansfield (Allegan Public Schools)
  • Mark Mattox (Allegan Public Schools)
  • Kelly Francisco (Battle Creek Area Catholic Schools)
  • Karl Shafer (Battle Creek Lakeview High School)
  • Amanda Barrett (Berrien Springs Public Schools)
  • Megan Lenz (Berrien Springs Public Schools)
  • Gwendolyn Stanford (Benton Harbor Area School)
  • Loraine Duffield (Brandywine Public Schools)
  • Lacy Payne (Bridgman Public Schools)
  • Sonja Churchill (Bridgman Public Schools)
  • Natalie Kluge (Buchanan Community Schools)
  • Rebekah Wiersma (Buchanan Community Schools)
  • Justin Brown (Calhoun Intermediate School District)
  • Teresa Edwards (Cassopolis Public Schools)
  • Jenni Button (Coloma Public Schools)
  • Ann Orr (Countryside Academy)
  • Heather Lopez (Countryside Academy)
  • Laura Emborsky (Decatur Public Schools)
  • Scott Burwell (Decatur Public Schools)
  • Andy Hackett (Dowagiac Union Schools)
  • Ashley Slusher (Dowagiac Union Schools)
  • Ashley Chynoweth (Dowagiac Union Schools)
  • Crystal Henninger (Dowagiac Union Schools)
  • Patti McCall (Dowagiac Union Schools)
  • Catherine Steinke (Eau Claire Public Schools)
  • Jennifer Jones (Edwardsburg Public Schools)
  • Connie Sather (Gwinn Area Community Schools)
  • Erica Jenkins (Harper Creek Community Schools)
  • Sandra Hahn (Hartford Public Schools)
  • Kimberly Hofstra (Homeschool)
  • Kaitlin Rich (Ishpeming Public Schools)
  • Matthew Douglas (Kalamazoo Public Schools)
  • Staci Andrews (Kalamazoo Public Schools)
  • Arlene Wright (Kalamazoo Public Schools)
  • Asha Epp (Kalamazoo Public Schools)
  • Allison Terrazas (Kalamazoo Public Schools)
  • Heather Sokolowski (Kalamazoo Public Schools)
  • Julie Davis (Kalamazoo Public Schools)
  • Kathleen Sant (Lake Michigan Catholic Schools)
  • Casey King (Lakeshore Public Schools)
  • Perry Heppler (Lakeshore Public Schools)
  • Kristin Markillie (Lakeview School District)
  • Matt Hoffman (Marquette Area Public Schools)
  • Heather Mars (Marquette Area Public Schools)
  • Kimberly Torreano (Negaunee Public Schools)
  • Linnea Gustafson (Negaunee Public Schools)
  • Todd Backlund (Negaunee Public Schools)
  • Kurt Corcoran (NICE Community Schools)
  • Anna Bauers (North Star Montessori Academy)
  • Sarah McLeod (North Star Montessori Academy)
  • Curtis Brewster (New Buffalo Elementary)
  • Ashlee Reed (Niles Community Schools)
  • Melissa Garrett (Ostego Public Schools)
  • Jamie Barrand (Pansophia Academy)
  • Jessica Jones (Paw Paw Early Public Schools)
  • Nicole Haring (Paw Paw Public Schools)
  • Cody Gregory (Plainwell Community Schools)
  • Emily Anthony (Portage Public Schools)
  • Suzi Jewell (River Valley Public Schools)
  • Michelle Koneff (River School)
  • Madelyne Bettis (South Haven School District)
  • Julie Sheppard (South Haven School District)
  • Courtney Gallup (St Charles Borromeo)
  • Michelle Fuller (St. Philip Catholic Central High School)
  • Shelby Basham (Tri-County Head Start)
  • Deborah Boughner (Trinity Lutheran-St. Joseph)
  • Angela Burd (Van Buren Intermediate School District)
  • Jill Boudrie (Vicksburg Community Schools)
  • Amy Mroczek (Waldron Area Schools)
  • Tameka Tyson (Watervliet Public Schools)

With the most submissions received to date with this award, Honor Credit Union wanted to give back to more than just our above-selected teachers. In addition to these winners, 10 Honorable Mentions received gifts for their classrooms. These recipients are:

  • Stephanie LePoudre (Brandywine Community Schools)
  • Marc Hartman (Eau Claire Public Schools)
  • Courtney Quandt (Lakeshore Public Schools)
  • Robin Pospisil (Niles Community Schools)
  • Kim Schmaltz (River Valley Schools)
  • Amber Villwock (Southwestern Michigan College)
  • Sarah Andalon (St. Charles Borromeo)
  • Patricia Humphreys (Tri-County Head Start)
  • Holly Bain (Union City Community Schools)
  • Susan Gendron (Van Buren Intermediate School District)

How Honor Supports Students

Student Credit Unions

We’ve been teaching youngsters about money management for as long as we can remember. Our Student Credit Union program has been around for over 10 years and has grown every year. For the 2019-20 school year we had 18 student credit unions. They are run by student workers, and offer a great experience for our young savers.

Youth Accounts

Our Youth Accounts are a great way for toddlers on up to teenagers to learn about saving and managing money. Whether they find a nickel on the ground, or get a crisp $20 bill on their birthday, we’re here to help teach the value of saving. There are also a few perks for the parents as well. Check out our Youth Accounts page to see how we help setup the next generation for success.